Wine Gummies

This was the inspiration. A Facebook post from my friend, Betsy. On Tuesdays we get together at her house to stamp, scrapbook and craft. The motto for our craft days has become “It’s Five O’clock Somewhere.” We also take turns bringing snacks to share and we frequently try out new recipes. Of course, I could not resist her post for Wine Gummies.

.

I gathered the ingredients. The recipe was really quite simple. I decided to use Brody’s Rescue Red which is a dry Pinot Noir thinking it would provide more of a real wine flavor. I thought perhaps I could get away with not adding any sweetener, but as I taste tested, the mixture needed a little something. Instead of using Stevia and maple syrup, I added two packets of Splenda. I was hoping to make this a low carb snack.

.

The recipe was just the right amount for a perfect thickness in an 8 inch by 8 inch pan. I let it cool on the counter. Refrigeration was not necessary.

.

I opted to cut them into squares. While the cookie cutter idea was cute, it would result in some waste — that was not a huge concern because we could always eat the leavings. I couldn’t help but laugh at note on the recipe “portion control is necessary for these – to avoid getting drunk.” There is only one cup of wine in the recipe. With that much (or little as the case may be), we are just getting started!

.

I let Betsy try them first. The texture was just exactly right for gummies and they smelled of wine, but sadly, there was very little flavor. A slight sweetness, but not much wine flavor at all. We didn’t eat beyond those first tastes.

Later that evening, without providing him with any of our earlier feedback, I had Bushmaster try one. He came to the same conclusion. In a house where we don’t waste wine, we both agreed that there was nothing we could do to make them salvageable. So out they went.

I am not willing to give up yet on this concept. I am wondering if they would be any different if they were made with a sweet white wine. There’s only one way to find out. Stay tuned!

