20160227_161613

It was Italy versus France this week at Party Town’s wine tasting. A white and a red wine were offered from each country.

  1. Duca di Saragnano Levante from Tuscany, Italy – an Italian white blend
  2. Cellier des Princes 2014 Chardonnay Viognier from Courthézon, France – a white blend of 50% Chardonnay and 50% Viognier
  3. Duca di Saragnano L’Opera from Tuscany, Italy – a red blend of Sangiovese, Primitivo, Syrah and Nero d’Avola.
  4. Jeff Carrel 2014 Languedoc Les Daron from the Languedoc-Roussillon region of France – a red blend of 70% Grenache, 20% Carignan and 10%

#1 was crisp, delightful and tasty. Typically a red wine drinker who avoids the whites, I was so glad I tried it. I can easily see enjoying this on a hot summer’s day by the pool. While others raved about it, I found #2 to be rather bland and flat. Maybe because my taste buds had been so colored by #1? #3 was fruit forward and delicious. #4 while nice, didn’t appeal to me as much as #3. Italy was the winner today with #3 being my favorite. I went back for two revisits!

PRECIOUS_red

Precious

Unfortunately, we arrived too late to sample the Southern Gothic Precious Syrah. Aged 18-24 months in Pappy Van Winkle Bourbon barrels, this was one we hated to have missed. JP was able to extract the last few drops from the bottle for me. Not really enough for a taste, but I tried! While I can’t vouch for the taste, I can attest that the bouquet was heavenly!

