20160319_155417

We missed JP but hope he is having a wonderful vacation.  He left us with a little trip of our own.  We had some really nice offerings from around the world this week at wine tasting!

  1. Von Winning 2014 Winnings Riesling from Pfalz, Germany – German Riesling
  2. Domaine Montrose 2015 Rose from the South of France – a Rose made from a blend of Grenache, Cabernet Sauvignon, and Syrah
  3. 2014 Pooor Thing Grenache from Barossa Valley, Australia – 100% Grenache
  4. Triton Mencia from Villanueva de Campeán, Spain – 100% Mencia

#1 was a fantastic Riesling — not to dry, not to sweet.  It was just right and oh so flavorful.  #2 was a popular favorite and a very nice light Rose.  It was hard to believe it was made from grapes known for dark rich wines.   #3 had wonderful fruity notes and as such was Bushmaster’s favorite.  The artwork on the label was amazing and I was able to snag an empty bottle for my collection.  #4 was the big red of the day and quite enjoyable.  Mencia is a new grape for me.  I will need to keep an eye open for that from now on.

I opted to spend my revisits on #1 and #4.  If I revisit a white, you know it’s got to be good.  Aged in French oak barrels, it was no wonder that #4 ended up being my favorite of the day.  But #1 wasn’t far behind.

IMAG2951

Here’s a close up of the artwork on #3. I really love creative and beautiful wine bottles and labels!

