20160423_154006

It’s been a busy month as we have been preparing for our son’s high school graduation.  I have realized that even if I don’t get my wine tasting posts made, I need to make notes.  We hadn’t made it to a wine tasting since April 23rd as there have been a number of Saturday events calling us away.  I am ashamed to say, I really don’t remember much about this wine tasting.

But here is the line up:

  • Domaine de la Choupette’s Puligny-Montrachet from Burgundy, France – Chardonnay
  • Il Rose de Casanova La Spinetta from Piedmont
  • 2009 Stratus from Niagara on the Lake, Canada – Bordeaux style red blend of Cabernet Franc, Cabernet Sauvignon, Syrah, Petit Verdot, Tannat, and Merlot
  • Chateau Rolland-Maillet’s 2004 Saint-Emilion Grand Cru from Saint Emilion, France – Bordeaux blend dominated by Merlot

With our love of Saint Emilion, I’m surprised I don’t recall my reaction to at least #4, but then again, maybe it did not live up to my expectations?  I vaguely seem to recall a preference for #3, but I can’t say that with much certainty either.

20160423_162237

20160423_162230

What did stand out was the Petit Verdot from Linden Vineyards that Jamie brought it to share.  She graciously shared a second taste with me as I had enjoyed it so much.

Gotta love those Virginia Petit Verdots!

