2016-05-24_10-05-23

We had quite the line up of wines for this tasting.  I actually had to do half tastings on some so that I could cover them all.  The main offerings were:

  1. Danielle de L’Ansee Sauvignon Blanc from Loire Valley, France
  2. Château de Campuget from Costières de Nîmes, France – Rose of Syrah and Grenache
  3. Weingut Carl Ehrhard’s Spätburgunder from Rüdesheim am Rhein, Germany – Pinot Noir
  4. Field Stone 2013 Alexander Valley Merlot from Healdsburg, California
  5. Field Stone 2013 Alexander Valley Cabernet Sauvignon from Healdsburg, California

Not being fans of Sauvignon Blanc, we found #1 to be better than most but still not the wine for us.  I was excited to try #3, the Spätburgunder, from Germany but was disappointed that it didn’t off a greater appeal.  #2, #4, and #5 were drinkable but none of them really stood out.

2016-05-24_10-05-02

Seeing that Jamie had provided two different Chambourcins from a couple of our local wineries, I was ready to move on.  Chambourcin is one of my favorites and I enjoyed both of these quite a lot.  As always, Jamie’s generosity provided wonderful additions to the tasting.

2016-05-24_10-05-48

2016-05-24_10-05-58

The last offering was from Horseshoe Bend Vineyards and Winery.  As I am not a fan of traditional Concord wine, I was a bit skeptical, but the pairing with blackberries was a nice surprise.  Not overly sweet and not overly “Welch’s-like”, this was quite a delicious product from another one of our local wineries.  Bushmaster and I both agreed that this was an outstanding option.  I think it’s time for another visit to Horseshoe Bend!

