2016-06-21_11-14-27

After the previous week’s disappointing tasting I was thrilled with the news that it was going to be a Cab Franc day.  JP at Party Town lined up a fantastic tasting of four Cabernet Francs.

  1. Steele Wines Writer’s Block from Lake County, California
  2. Les Chais Saint Laurent Chinon Vigne en Veron 2012 Chinon from Loire, France
  3. Lang & Reed North Coast Cabernet Franc from St. Helena, California
  4. Henry Lagarde 2011 Cabernet Franc from Mendoza, Argentina

I
As you can tell by the smile on my face, it was a glorious tasting for me.  While I was able to move #2 with its unusual taste to the bottom of my list, I was less clear on the others, hence the need for a side by side tasting.  JP took care to get me fixed up.  The verdict?  #4, #1, and #3 was the order of my preference.  Not a huge fan of the big reds, Bushmaster preferred #1 with its silky smooth taste and finish.  He graciously gave up his sixth sample so that I could again revisit #4.

2016-06-21_11-16-01

Our party then moved to Liquor City where we heard they were tasting Zinfandels.  The line up there included:

  1. La Crema 2014 Chardonnay from Sonoma, California
  2. Zin-Phomaniac 2012 Lodi Zinfandel from Sonoma, California
  3. Uppercut 2013 Cabernet Sauvignon from Sonoma, California

They weren’t all Zinfandels, but with two reds to one white,  it was still a worthwhile stop.  As expected, the unoaked Chardonnay did not impress.  The Zinfandel was well received by most, but my favorite here was the Cabernet Sauvignon.

2016-06-21_11-16-13

We also had the option to try a Rye.  Smooth and pleasant, I liked it a lot.

Then somehow our conversation turned to Scotch.  My only experience with
Scotch was Bushmaster’s firm opinion that Scotch tasted like old tennis shoes.  Our hostess, Cheryl, confirmed that by saying she thought it tasted like wrung out sweat socks.  Still, having never tasted it, I was curious.

2016-06-21_11-16-27

Cheryl offered us samples from two open bottles they had available.  I found The Famous Grouse to not be bad at all.  It certainly did not align with the images of tennis shoes and sweat socks.  We moved on to the Laphroaig 10 Year Old Islay.  Much more expensive, it still didn’t taste like tennis shoes or sweat socks.  Instead, I got the taste of burned electrical wires.  Not a taste I found palatable and I was happy they had some potato chips on hand so I could get the taste out of my mouth.  Even so, it was a fun tasting with new experiences.  Thank you Cheryl!

