20160702_193059

When I planned this wine trip, we planned out stops around dinner plans at Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant.

As we entered the restaurant, we were greeted with a sample of their Chenin Blanc Viognier.  A crisp white wine, it was very refreshing.  We elected to visit their tasting bar before putting our names in for a table.

They offer a wine club and each month a different line up of sweet and dry tastings.

The sweet tasting appealed to Bushmaster:

  • Moscato – This wine was fairly sweet but Bushmaster did not find it to be overblown.  It reminded me of Fruity Pebbles.
  • Gewurtztraminer – A nice sweet version.
  • Rhubarb – We were still in search of just the right Rhubarb.
  • White Sangria – Even Bushmaster remarked that it was overwhelmingly sweet and fruity.  I found it to be incredibly sweet.
  • Red Sangria – Another sweet offering, this Sangria was rather syrupy.
  • Raspberry – With its intense flavor, this wine was indeed a very true raspberry and surprisingly ended up being my favorite here.
  • Blueberry – As we have said before, Blueberry is a hard wine to do.  While I found it to be super sweet, I had to agree with Bushmaster that this was done better than most Blueberry wines we have tasted.
  • Sweet Sparkling Red – Another sweet wine, from the Concord grape but with a bit of effervescence.

I had to be a bit difficult.  The dry tasting included several wines that were not appealing along with going a bit too far down the sweet line: Pinto Gris, Chenin Blanc Viognier, Lux Chardonnay, Pinot Noir, Merlot, Petite Sirah, Sweet Sparkling Red, Red Sangria.  To accomodate my preferences, our hostess was gracious in helping me create my own tasting:

  • Pinot Noir – This was a very nice Pinot with good flavor.
  • Sangiovese – Served chilled, I didn’t find this one to be to my liking.
  • Barbera
  • Merlot
  • Zinfandel – I found this wine to have a raisiny flavor.  Throughout the days adventure, as I encountered the flavor of raisins in a number of the wines, I believe I am determining that this is not one that appeals to me.
  • Cabernet Zinfandel
  • Cabernet Sauvignon

The wines offered over all were nice and the pours were generous.  One thing we did find a bit disturbing was that we found two of the wines to be corked.  While they didn’t question us and graciously poured glasses from another wine bottle, they did not dispose of the corked bottles.  We wondered if they were just going to continue to pass those bottle off to unsuspecting patrons.

During tasting, we met another couple with whom we had a lot in common.  We invited them to share a table with us and we enjoyed some great food and great conversation.

For an appetizer, at our new friends’ insistance, we sampled their Mexican Drunken Shrimp.  This was a bacon wrapped shrimp wth tequila lime butter sauce and fresh guacamole.  These shrimp were a bacon lover’s dream.

My dinner selection was the Bleu Cheese & Crispy Onion Burger which was served with bleu cheese, lettuce, tomato, chipotle mayo, and crispy onion strings.  I ordered mine medium and ate it without the bun.  The combination of flavors was fantastic and I will be putting bleu cheese on my grocery list to have on hand for summer cookouts.

Bushmaster chose the Crispy Fish Sandwich which was a beer-battered cod.  As he usually does, he ordered it without condiments so that it would be to his liking.

In the end, our new friends surprised us.  As wine club members, they treated us to our dinners!  We look forward to staying in touch and seeing them again on a return trip to their city.

Believe it or not, there was still one more stop on our winery tour!

