We interrupt the tour of the Traverse City wineries to update you on some of our more recent excursions.

20160724_175159

I’m not sure whether it was withdrawal or what, but the day after we returned from vacation, we found ourselves on our way to visit another winery.  It had been a while since we visited Smith-Berry Winery and I was craving Norton, so that was the destination we chose.

We had brought Peanut, our newest Classy Canine, with us so I waited on the patio while Bushmaster did a tasting and brought me a few if his samples for me to try.

Unsupervised, he selected the following from their tasting list:

  • Zinfandel
  • Cabernet Sauvignon
  • Chambourcin
  • Riesling
  • Bluegrass Blush
  • Blackberry

20160724_160617

Their Norton supply had been depleted and so I was left to choose from the Zinfandel, the Cabernet Sauvignon, and the Chambourcin.  The Zinfandel came off sweeter than what I have come to expect from Zins.  The Chambourcin, having been back sweetened, was also a bit to sweet for my taste.  But the Cabernet Sauvignon was just right.  Bushmaster went on to enjoy the samples of the sweeter wines.  After he was finished we enjoyed a small picnic of cheese, crackers, and a nice red wine.

20160724_163503

Even though Peanut was not able to have any wine, he enjoyed his outing as an “only dog”. It was a nice diversion and relaxing interlude before truly calling an end to vacation and returning to work the next morning.

