20161009_135446

Our Norton adventure wasn’t just limited to making wine. Having tasted the Norton grapes off the vine and finding them so sweet and delicious, prior to fermentation, I knew I had to try making some into jelly. This turned out to be some of the best tasting grape jelly I have ever had, even if I do so say myself. No more Welch’s for me!

I then made a second batch of jelly from the fermented pureed fruit left over after the first racking. While I didn’t detect as much wine flavor as I had expected, this second batch was even richer and more intense in grape flavor than the first. Simply excellent!

For both jellies I used Sure-Jell Pectin Less/No Sugar and followed the instructions for grape jelly.

20161119_103331

I still had some of the fermented pureed fruit left. The nose was fantastic and I could not bear to waste it so I turned it into syrup. The wine flavor really came through in the syrup and I believe it was because there was less cooking time than the jelly. It was fantastic!

Norton Must Syrup

2 cups Norton Must
1 cup sugar
1 tablespoon corn starch

Combine all ingredients. Heat to boiling. Boiling one minute stirring constantly. Serve on pancakes, waffles, or ice cream.

