Our New Years Eve celebration began with a wine and champagne tasting at Liquor City.

20161231_171728

First up were two young wines:

  • Domain Rochette 2016 Beaujolais Villages Nouveau
  • Georges Duboeuf 2016 Beaujolais Nouveau

Both wines were from the Gamay grape from the Beaujolais region of France. While the youthfulness of the wine was apparent, it was fruit forward and quite enjoyable.

20161231_172323

We then moved to the champagnes.  Korbel’s Sweet Rose from California was next. While not to Bushmaster’s taste, I was surprised at how well I liked it. Labeled as sweet, it was not overly so which I’m sure had a lot to do with why it appealed to me.

20161231_173012

There was quite a bit of creativity going on at the next table as wine, champagne, juice, and sorbets were mixed to create new concoctions.

We started out with a mix of Lamarca Prosecco and Pomegranate Cherry juice topped with Raspberry Sorbet. This one was over the top too sweet for me.  I think the flavor may have been better had it been topped with the Cherry Sorbet but I suspect it still would have been too sweet for me.

Next was a mix of Leelanau Cellars Witches Brew with the Lamarac Prosecco. Bushmaster opted out as he isn’t a fan of spiced wine. I have to say that I much prefer my Witches Brew solo.  And heated.

Our final taste was the Lamarca Prosecco with the Mango Passion Fruit Sorbet. This combination was a winner.  Great flavor with just the right amount of sweetness to curb the sharpness of the Prosecco.

It was a treat to experiment with the tastes.  I’m sure there were other combinations we could have played with.  All in all this was a fun tasting. I look forward to acquiring some of the Mango Passion Fruit Sorbet of my own so that I can see what else I can do with it.

 

