20170225_162144

We had lots of choices lined up for us today!

20170225_162150

JP was serving up the following:

  • Rolly Gassmann Riesling from Alsace France
  • Jean-Michel Maurice Domaine du Prieure Savigny-les-Beaune from Burgundy, France – Chardonnay
  • Molly Dooker Two Left Feet from McLaren Vale, Australia – 2014 red blend of Shiraz, Cabernet and Merlot
  • Mollydooker The Boxer – 2014 Shiraz
  • Spider Monkey from Florida – a new liqueur made from Mexican Agave spirits, infused with ginger and serano peppers

There wasn’t one wine in this line up that I didn’t like.  The Riesling was AMAZING!  It was truly a dry wine, but with its high alcohol content and complexity, it came off more like a rich dessert wine.  While not a lot of oak, the Chardonnay was buttery and delicious.  Both reds were fantastic.  Spider Monkey, although not quite as intense, reminded me a lot of Dragon’s Breath from Hilltop Berry Farm in Nellysford, Virginia.

20170225_162210

Jamie brought in two wines from her travels:

  • Rockbridge Riesling from Raphine, Virginia
  • Cardinal Point Petit Verdot from Afton, Virginia

Both of these wines were from wineries that Bushmaster and I had visited ourselves. Rockbridge had a number of wines we liked and I suppose if I hadn’t already tried the Rolly Gassmann Riesling, I would have liked it more. Rolly Gassmann was an extremely tough act to follow.  We had found Cardinal Point to be disappointing and sadly this more recent Petit Verdot didn’t change our opinion.  It just didn’t hold up to the Petit Verdots we love from Barren Ridge and Pearmund.

When it came back to my remaining tastings, I returned my glass to JP and told him to finish them all off with the Rolly Gassmann Riesling.  Oh my goodness, what an experience!  I’ll say it again, it was AMAZING!

As a kick off to our own uncorking party later that evening, our Classy Canine, Peanut, accompanied us to the wine tasting.

20170225_164402

The nose knows… “I detect a hint of oak in the bouquet!”

20170225_164406

“Gee, I’d really like to try some.  I’ll bet it’s delicious.”

Unfortunately, Peanut was not able to taste the wine.  Grapes and raisins are highly toxic for dogs, so for him, his experience was limited to only sniffs. But yes, he would have liked to have tried it!

