20170422_121257

My travels last month took me through Louisville, which game me the opportunity to visit a fun little winery on the way.  I had been to Brooks Hill Winery twice before but it had been a while.  I hadn’t been able to manage a stop here on several of my previous trips because it seemed like I was always traveling through when they were closed.

20170422_141418

My stop here was anticipated but not really planned as I didn’t know until I got on the road if I could manage it.  I was only an hour out when I texted my friends, Debbi and Vickie, for an emergency meeting of the Winey Wenches. Vickie was working but Debbi was able to join me.  We hadn’t seen each other in quite a while so it was so nice to catch up. The time just flew by.

Of course we had to do a tasting!

Without a Designated Driver and driving a rental car, I had to be conservative. I limited myself to a single standard tasting.  My selections were:

  • Dori Roe Red – Chambourcin
  • Estate Blend – Red blend of Cabernet Sauvignon, Cabernet Franc, and Limberger
  • Cabernet Sauvignon
  • Hill Breeze – Traminette
  • Cherry-Cranberry

They were all quite enjoyable but it was the Chambourcin that stood out to me this day.  I purchased a bottle to enjoy later on my trip.

20170422_131520

While Debbi and I were visiting in the charming little tasting room, the winery dog, Lili, came in to say hello.  We even managed to convince her to pose for a picture.

I definitely need to plan my trips better so that I can enjoy more visits to Brooks Hill. There are several other wines I need to try.  And next time maybe I’ll let Bushmaster join me too!

 

