A work related conference took me within 40 minutes of where my daughter lives.  The dates, as well as my work schedule, allowed me to enjoy two extended weekends with her. During our girl time we always plan some wonderful adventures.

20170425_123810

We had had Eddy Grove Vineyard on our radar for some time.  A little bit of research on there website revealed that they also had a restaurant with a very interesting menu.

It was a beautiful day and the tasting room and restaurant were just as cute as they could be.  We decided we wanted to enjoy the perfect weather and relaxed with a tasting of their wines and a fantastic lunch on the patio.

Like many wineries, Eddy Grove’s vines had suffered with the previous winters so their wine list was not as lengthy as they would have liked it to be.  We sampled all that they had to offer:

  • Zinfandel
  • Chambourcin Rosé
  • Sauvignon Blanc
  • Chardonel
  • Traminette
  • Sweet Dreams – A blend of Vidal Blanc and Caldwell County blackberries

The Zinfandel was my favorite and the Chardonel was Aary’s.  We both enjoyed a glass of our picks with our lunch.  And what an amazing lunch it was!

20170425_131436

I had actually thought I was going to play it conservatively and order a burger. But when they didn’t have blue cheese, I stepped out of my comfort zone and order their Teriyaki Salmon Salad with Lemon Vinaigrette Dressing.  I was so glad I did.  It was absolutely fantastic!

20170425_131446

Aary ordered the Sautéed Quail Salad with Honey Mustard Dressing. It too was amazing. Neither one of us could remember when we had had such a beautiful and delicious meal.

Timberdoodle Restaurant has a different menu every week.  Based on our experience, we can only imagine what new and beautiful dishes they will be featuring.  For those who aren’t so adventurous, their gourmet burger is always a staple.

Eddy Grove  Vineyard is looking forward to a new harvest and being able to expand their tasting list.  I know Aary and I are both looking forward to another visit later in the season, not only for the new wines, but for another wonderful and unique dining experience.  Their winery and restaurant are ones not to miss!

