20170720_190232

Two weeks ago while I was attending a conference out of town, Bushmaster took the night off work and met me after my classes were over.  Open until 9 PM, we couldn’t resist the opportunity to visit Chrisman Mill Vineyards tasting room.

Little did we know that they had moved but it only took a small bit of rerouting to find our way to their new (well new to us) tasting room at the Fayette Mall.

Not only had their location change, but their tasting format had as well.   To take advantage of a larger variety of their wines, we each selected a flight and then shared the samples.

My picks were:

  • First Vineyard Reserve – Red blend of Chambourcin, Norton, and Cabernet Franc
  • Norton – Aged 18 months in American Oak Barrels
  • Norton Reserve – Aged over 24 months in Cuvee Oak Barrels

Bushmaster opted for:

  • Vidal Blanc
  • Blackberry
  • La Madre – Vidal Blanc Dessert Wine

Not surprisingly, my favorite was the oaky Norton Reserve.  We both enjoyed the Blackberry and La Madre dessert wines.

As we visited and talked wine making with our host, he offered us a sample of their Chocolate which is a chocolate infused Desert Wine. While I love chocolate and I love wine, I’m not really a chocolate wine fan.  After our initial sample, our host added a splash of the Norton Reserve which changed the experience completely.  The red wine added a different dimension.  I still prefer my chocolate in solid form, but I was surprised how much better I liked this impromptu blend.  Definitely something to keep in mind for the next time we do a tasting that includes a chocolate infused wine.

